Black Hills Knowledge Netowork

Voter Resource Guide

Information for Voters

Information about polling locations, sample ballots, and candidates should all be easily accessible to voters. Below you will find resources for voting by county, as well where your polling location is and how to check your voter registration.

In addition to the information listed below, registered voters with mobile devices can access the Vote 605 Mobile App for information on their polling location and ballot information.

How to Register to Vote in South Dakota

In order to register to vote, you must be 18 years old on or before the next election and reside within state boundaries. You may not register or be eligible to vote if you are currently serving a sentence for a felony conviction or are judged to be mentally incompetent by a court of law.

If you are a new voter in South Dakota, have recently moved within South Dakota, or wish to change your party affiliation, you will need to register to vote or change your voter registration. You may register to vote at the following locations:

  • County Auditor’s office (information by county below)
  • Driver’s license station (when you are renewing or applying for a driver’s license)
  • City finance office
  • Public assistance agencies
  • Department of Human Service offices (assistance for disabled voters)
  • Military recruitment offices

If you are already registered to vote, you can visit the SD Secretary of State’s website to confirm your registration and polling location.

Voting in South Dakota

Polling locations across South Dakota are open from 7:00 a.m. until 7:00 p.m. Voters are required to bring a form of identification, such as:

  • South Dakota driver’s license or nondriver identification card
  • U.S. government photo ID (such as a passport)
  • U.S. Armed Forces ID
  • Current South Dakota high school or accredited higher education institution ID
  • Tribal photo ID

Voters who do not have identification must sign a personal identification affidavit before casting a ballot. Voters who are unable to make it to their polling location on Election Day may also cast an absentee ballot starting on September 23, 2016.

2018 Election

For a quick summary of the potential ballot questions for 2018, visit our 2018 Ballot Question Guide

The SD Secretary of State’s website provides voters with non-partisan information on upcoming ballot measures, a map of the South Dakota Legislative districts, and sample ballots for those who are already registered to vote. Candidate lists, upcoming elections, campaign finance guidelines, petition information and other election resources are also available.

If you are curious to see who your current South Dakota Senators and Representatives are, you can visit the South Dakota Legislative Research Council’s website.

Historical Elections

The South Dakota Secretary of State’s office also provides historical election data and references online. Resources include election returns, voter registration, voter turnout, and ballot questions.

Butte County Auditor

Elaine Jensen
839 5th Ave.
Belle Fourche, SD 57717
(P) 605-892-4485
(F) 605-723-0057

Custer County Auditor

Nancy Christensen
420 Mount Rushmore Road
Custer, SD 57730
(P) 605-673-8109

Fall River

Sue Ganje
906 N. River Street
Hot Springs, SD 57747
(P) 605-745-5130


Connie Atkinson
90 Sherman Street
Deadwood, SD 57732
(P) 605-578-1941 (F) 605-578-1065


Lisa Schieffer
1300 Sherman Street Suite 126
Sturgis, SD 57785
(P) 605-347-2360

Oglala Lakota

Oglala Lakota County contracts with the Lawrence County auditor’s office for shared use of its auditor, treasurer, director of equalization, state’s attorney, and registrar of deeds.

Sue Ganje 906 N. River Street
Hot Springs, SD 57747
(P) 605-745-5130


Julie Pearson
130 Kansas City Street Suite 230
Rapid City, SD 57701
(P) 605-394-2153
Email the county auditor’s office here

Related items

  • Rural Residents Receive Broadband Access Via Connect SD Initiative

    The Connect South Dakota initiative, a $5 million state-funded grant program proposed by Governor Kristi Noem in her State of the State and budget address…
  • Rapid City Organization Celebrates Women’s Equality Day

    In 1920, Congress certified the 19th Amendment, giving women in the United States the right to vote – in 1971, Congress declared that August 26th…
  • Hunter Roberts Named SD DENR Secretary

    Republican Governor Kristi Noem announced Tuesday that Hunter Roberts, former policy adviser and current Department of Labor deputy secretary, has been named Secretary of South…

525 University Loop, Suite 202
Rapid City, SD 57701
(605) 716-0058   [email protected]