Black Hills Knowledge Netowork

Lawrence County

Lawrence County, South Dakota, covers 800 square miles of the northern Black Hills and foothills, bordering Wyoming to the west. Deadwood has been county seat since territorial days. In addition to Deadwood, the Lawrence County communities are Central City, Lead, St. Onge, Spearfish and Whitewood.

Lawrence County was formally organized by the Dakota Territorial legislature in 1877, deriving its name from its first county treasurer, Colonel John Lawrence.

Latest News

525 University Loop, Suite 202
Rapid City, SD 57701
(605) 716-0058   [email protected]